About Branches News & Events Resources Buildings at Risk Gallery Preservation Works!




Nine Awards Presented at Annual Gala November 2nd

November 28, 2012

The Architectural Conservancy of Ontario met at the Arts and Letters Club of Toronto on Friday, November 2nd for a celebration of excellence, its sixth annual awards presentation. Nine awards were presented. The event’s Host Sponsor was Woodcliffe Landmark Properties, represented by its President, Eve Lewis.

This year we introduced four new awards that reflect changes in our heritage work. First, to properly acknowledge owners who respect their heritage buildings while adapting them for contemporary uses, is the Paul Oberman Award for Adaptive Reuse, named for a leading exemplar of that practice whose projects demonstrated financial acumen as well as sensitivity and good taste.

Our second new award recognizes members ACO's energetic group of emerging professionals, who have dubbed themselves the NextGen. Their enthusiasm and involvement shows great promise for the future of heritage advocacy.

Third, knowing that our efforts depend on public awareness-that the media in all its forms is critical to helping us tell our story-we are pleased to honour special contributions in journalism, writing, or new media.

Finally, because we are seeing more and more fine buildings built in our lifetimes threatened with demolition, and because such buildings will be the built heritage of the future, ACO has established the Post-1945 Design Award to raise awareness of their value and in the hope of helping to preserve these future classics.

Here is a list of this year’s winners. For more detail about the winners and the projects for which they were honoured, click on the pdf below.

James D. Strachan Award for Craftsmanship: 
Andrew Skuce, Paradigm Shift Customs, Paris, ON

Peter Stokes Restoration Award: 
John and Michèle Harding for The Old Surgery, Prescott
Paul Oberman Award for Adaptive Reuse: 
E.R.A. Architects for Maple Leaf Gardens, Toronto      

Post-1945 Design Award: 
Eb Zeidler

Margaret and Nicholas Hill Cultural Heritage Landscape Award: 
Red Cloud Cemetery Board, Cramahe Township

ACO NextGen Award: 
Jamie Bradburn

ACO Media Award: 
Chris Clark, Editor, Guelph Tribune
A.K. Sculthorpe Award for Advocacy: 
Friends of Wesleyville Village

Eric Arthur Lifetime Achievement Award: 
Don and Joan Rumgay

Thank you to all who have supported us this past year: the Board and Council of ACO who represent our members, the distinguished members of the President’s Circle who advise us, the sponsors who support us, the Ministry advisors who assist us in our work, and of course, our members.

Type of News Item: nominations

Associated Document:
     The 2012 Award Winners (Acrobat PDF file)

Get Adobe Reader