About Branches News & Events Resources Buildings at Risk Gallery Preservation Works!



2016 Heritage Award Winners announced by Architectural Conservancy of Ontario

Eleven Awards to be Presented

October 17, 2016


The Architectural Conservancy of Ontario is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 ACO Provincial Heritage Awards, to be presented at the organization’s Annual Awards Dinner on Friday, November 4, at Osgoode Hall, Queen Street West and University Avenue.


The awards are presented in 11 categories including life time achievement, adaptive reuse, advocacy, craftsmanship, media, next gen, restoration, special contributions, and cultural heritage landscape. 


Nominations were submitted from throughout the province and from communities ranging from small villages to large metropolitan areas.  Recipients include heritage professionals, dedicated volunteers, heritage activists, and individuals of all ages with a passion for built heritage.  The selection committee had difficult choices to make because of the high quality and large number of nominations submitted.


The final award recipients are as follows:


  • A. K. (Alice King) Sculthorpe Award for Advocacy, to Carol Kleinfeldt and Kim Storey for their efforts to save the Davisville Junior Public School building complex in Toronto

  • Eric Arthur Lifetime Achievement Award, to Robert Hill, architect, historian, and creator of the Dictionary of Architects in Canada 1800-1950

  • Peter Stokes Restoration Award – Corporate, to Glanmore National Historic Site in Belleville for the restoration of delicate moulded and painted plaster ceilings

  • Peter Stokes Restoration Award – Small scale/individual/family category, to Royal Canadian Legion Branch 103 for restoring the façade of Ogilvie House in Campbellford

  • Paul Oberman Award for Adaptive Reuse—Corporate, to Sweeny and Co. Architects for the Queen-Richmond Centre

  • Paul Oberman Award for Adaptive Reuse—Small scale/individual/family category, to Mark and Cathy Graham for the restoration and repurposing of the Clock Tower Inn in Strathroy

  • Margaret and Nicholas Hill Cultural Heritage Landscape Award to ERA Architects for their design concept for Mouth of the Creek Park in Toronto

  • Mary Millard Award for Special Contributions, to Robert Mikel for research on Cobourg’s architectural history and advocacy for Cobourg’s heritage over many years

  • James D. Strachan Award for Craftsmanship, to Allan Avis Architects for restoration and stabilization of the ceiling at the Parish of St. Joseph Catholic Church, Windsor

  • ACO NextGen Award, to Olivia Ashton for the development of a heritage property register for Leamington and for volunteer work on heritage

  • ACO Media Award, to Taylor Hazell Architects  for “Evolution I: Riding with Rollo”, an educational video with Rollo Myers on accessibility challenges in Heritage buildings and neighbourhoods

  • Post-1945 Design Award, no award given this year




For detailed information on the award winners and their projects, please see the attached backgrounder.





Type of News Item: media/communications

Associated Document:
     About the Award Winners (Acrobat PDF file)

Get Adobe Reader